Secondaries and too dry a wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
O

oldspark

OK I am new to the EPA stove thing but I have read a lot ( :lol: ) and this time of year with the small fires I am not getting much of the secondary action, however I put in a piece of Oak that part of it was past its prime and the secondaries kicked in immediately and burnt for a little while and then backed off. I assume this is normal with wood that is past its prime correct?

Volume of the wood is going to play a part in it as well, but the better quality as well.

smokinjay said:
Volume of the wood is going to play a part in it as well, but the better quality as well.
So the too dry firewood gives off gases right away and kicks in the secondaries I guess, I think I read about that on this site but was the first time I observed it.

oldspark said:
smokinjay said:
So the too dry firewood gives off gases right away and kicks in the secondaries I guess, I think I read about that on this site but was the first time I observed it.

"too dry" - there is a term that is difficult to define. I believe that most folks tend to agree that naturally dried wood can't get 'too dry' in most cases. The exceptions being those who live in very dry desert regions where relative humidity stays in the single digits most of the year and/or if you store your wood in an old barn/greenhouse or some other structure that is situated such that it acts like a kiln for a long time.

Other than that you would need to kiln-dry your wood to get it "too dry".

Those secondaries are what you are supposed to see :)