Setting Up my 1st Pellet Stove...vent pipes..vacuum cleaner...whatever..??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bigruckus

Jun 2, 2011
Northern Maine, Millinocket
I'm new to this pellet stove stuff and I just bought a new Thelin 3000 for $1500.00...it's my first ever pellet stove..it was a great deal so I decided to burn pellets...firewood is great but it's to much work for me....anyways I need to set this up and get it running...need some info on setting this up...I need to buy vent pipes...a vacuum cleaner and some kind of floor protector...Any info on what I should buy or do would be great..I'm venting into a chimney..only need about a 6' to 7' run on the vent pipe..

Well, you basically know what you need, but get some accurate measurements of
your existing location & take the owner's manual to your local hearth shop(s) &
talk to a professional. You need the centerline dimension & diameter of the existing
wall thimble. You need the centerline dimension of the stove exhaust vent.
You need to have your chimney cleaned & probably inspected so you end
up with a safe install. You may also need a liner - depending on the chimney
condition. After you get a professional's input & his pricing, you will be able to
shop around for the best price if you want to.
Just my $ .02, FWIW...