Shameless Tree ID.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sgt7546

Sep 28, 2010
Pittsburgh, PA
Mixed in my recent score of Locust was this wood. I'm new at this wood thing and only recognize wood that I have already had (locust/sycamore/sugar maple..)

ID%201.jpg
ID%202.jpg

That Looks like Cherry to me.

Thanks Fsr, I only had cherry once but it was all one color and much darker.

+1 on the cherry. There are variations of all woods.

Bark is cherry-like ('scaly'), but looks like pine to me - I don't remember seeing sapwood like that in the cherry I've cut. Perhaps I need more coffee.....

Cheers!

Also looks like a pine to me too, but that could easily be solved with a sniff test or sticky sap.

The bark screams Pine, but the heartwood doesn't. Split one. That will take more of the guess work out of it.

Adios Pantalones said:
I think it's a connifer,

'round these parts, if it has needles, its a pine. %-P

My first thought when I saw the bark was spruce . . . but the inner wood looked a bit like cherry . . . looking at the needles or leaves will help give us a little more of a clue if they are available.

It's some sort of mutated chery-spruce hybrid! :lol:

The bark definitely looks like some sort of conifer... not sure what types of conifers you guys have back that way...

looks a bit like yellow pine, but I don't think that grows naturally in Pa.

That for sure is cherry, I just took another one down the other day.

WoodButcher

Attachments

• black_cherry.jpg
    black_cherry.jpg
    354 KB · Views: 357
  • WB_Cherry.jpg
    WB_Cherry.jpg
    207.2 KB · Views: 338