Should my chimney touch the moon?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tranquilize

Jan 27, 2009
Western Canada
Hi, I'm still in the midst of preparing to install a VC Intrepid II and have found another issue. I wanted to install my stove so that the stovepipe takes a 90 degree bend and goes outside and then straight up and through the overhang of my roof. Being a newb, I didn't realize that the 10-2-3 rule would make one hell of a chimney on a 10/12 pitched roof (that's my guess at the roof pitch). It looks to me that I would need roughly ten feet of chimney after I go through the roof. According to a lot of posts I've read, this length will be good for the fire, but I'm wondering if anyone has this setup with a steep pitch. I'm thinking my house would look rather strange with this insanely long, shiny chimney up the side.

Below is a picture of my house. the chimney would come up on the right (your right) side of the house and would be as tall as the peak. Is this normal? I couldn't find a single picture on the web of a house with such a long chimney traveling through mid-air.

Cheers,

Lance

n701711258_2466794_3924.jpg

My roof isn't as sloped as yours and I guess my chimney is about 8ft above the roofline. The installer put two metal braces facing towards the spine of the roof for bracing.

Cute house BTW...

Jay

Hey, Tranquilize..