Smoke coming out of my stove door.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ianb42

Nov 5, 2008
NJ
Im very new to wood burning stoves. I just had one installed yesterday.

I can get a decent fire going, but everytime i open the door to add more wood the smoke pours out. Is there anything I can do to fix this?

Try not opening it until the fire has burned down to just a hot bed of coals - this should take 3 - 8 hours depending on the stove you have and the wood used.
Then load her up tight again and burn it down. The coals do not really smoke, so you can load up without a problem.
This assumes proper chimney and draft situation - if you are getting a lot of smoke, you could have an installation problem.
The good folks on here can give you some real specifics if we know the stove type, chimney type, height, liner, insulation etc....

Open the air control first, wait a little bit, then open the door slowly. That often helps.

What stove model is this and can you describe the flue system that the stove is connected to? Sometimes that is a place that can be improved.

Okay, I will confess to having taken my "stupid pills" one day last week. I could still see smoke swirling around in the firebox, and instead of just having the patience to wait for the fire to really get going--I just had to open the door and add more wood.

Prettry much what you would expect, swirling smoke is gonna look for the closest exit, and that was the insert door.

So sure, make certain the draft is fully open.

Open door slowly.

And keep it Shut-if you see swirling smoke inside the firebox. :red: