solar electric to power electric water heater

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smabon

Jan 29, 2009
Lunenburg, Ma
So I have been heating my house with wood for the last three years and the only thing I now use my oil boiler for is hot water. I would love to stop paying for oil. I have been wondering if the is a small electric solar system that I could get to power a new electric water heater. I know nothing about solar power. Is my idea a waste of time? How big of a solar system would I need. As usual money is tight. Would I be able to get a solar system for under $1000 not including the water heater? I imaging that there is a way to set it up so that if there isn't enough power stored up from the solar system that the house electricity would take over. I also might use the electric solar system to help run the blowers on my stove. Any info would help. Thanks for your time.

Take it in steps, and do some of the work yourself. Direct electric resistance HW heat is roughly the same cost as oil at $3/gallon, and electricity is probably more competitive if you are only using your boiler for hot water.

Look at getting a good electric hot water heater - Marathon makes one that will last a lifetime.

Cut your usage any way you can with low flow faucets and pipe/water heater insulation. Put a heat trap on the output of the hot water heater. Make all future appliances the most efficient ones you can afford.