Some Wood Pellet Fuel Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

I'm new to pellet stoves, getting one installed tomorrow. It's a Harman P-68. Looking in stores and online, I find that there are a ton (excuse the pun) of different brands of wood pellets to choose from. Many have only the PFI logo on the bag, many have the analysis below the logo. My stove is coming with a half ton of Hamer's Hot Ones.

I happened to stop in at a Tractor Supply in Winchester, VA yesterday and they had a brand called Hardwood Heat, specifically distributed to Tractor Supply stores. I also saw a few comments suggesting/inferring that they were really made by Hamer's, and were essentially one and the same as Hamer's Hot Ones. Also saw a reference to Southern States selling a brand called Statesman (I think), and also made by Hamer's. Don't know if that's true, and if true, if they are the same as the Hot Ones.

So my question is: is that correct? Is Hardwood Heat from Tractor Supply the same "exact" pellet fuel as Hamer's Hot Ones? Both have the same PFI analysis.

I have also been led to believe that Turman's and Cubex are also very good, and a reasonably low ash and fines fuel, though I don't know who carries them in my area.

I have been looking at the testing results posted on this website, so I have been trying to do my homework and try to be somewhat informed regarding pellet stoves and their fuel. Just looking for the best fuel to burn at the "right" price.