St Croix or NPS45

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sgrove

Feb 18, 2012
Central Ma
I'm new to this pellet stove thing and I'm very nervous about getting one because all I can find on any stove is that all they do is break down. No matter what brand it is.

I'm looking at a St Croix afton bay and a Nepoleon NPS45. I have already put a deposit on the St Croix that I can get it back if I change my mind.

Which of these stoves would you get if you had the choice? I have found alot about the St Croix. Good and bad. Mostly bad, just like every other stove I look up. Can't find much on NPS45 besides its ranked in consumer reports. These are the two stoves I have kind of narrowed it down to. Open for other suggestions though.

I'm trying to heat a 1100sq foot ranch and would be putting the stove in the living room pointing toward the hallway.

All and any advice is welcome.

Thanks

I can only speak for our afton bay.

We really love it. I like the looks of the stove and it has been really easy to clean and work on. We just replaced the combustion fan this week. only took 10 minutes to remove and 15 minutes to put back in.

The dealer carried the part in stock.

We bought our stove used and the manufucture stamp says it is a 2006. Nothing until now has ever been replaced on it according to the man we bought it from.

It burns really well and has no problem keeping our 1800 sq foot 2 story old farm house built in 1870 warm and toasty.