stand for timber tuff sharpener

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
just got one yesterday-haven't used it yet-maybe today. has anyone made a floor stand for theirs? similar to one for a grinder,etc. i'm not great at conceptualizing this kind of project,but i am a pretty fair welder. a picture or sketch would be great. thanks,art

Here is what I use for all my tools since I dont have the space for multiple dedicated stands. I'll try and get some pics later. I use a plow disc for a base ( and old car rim will work to ) and have 1.5" galvanized pipe that is 4' long and threaded on both ends welded upright. I then mount a small piece of 2x10 or 2x12 to each piece of equipment and attach one of these to it:

http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/Structural-Pipe-Fitting-4NXV9

I just keep the threads lubricated with antisieze and I can just unscrew the tool and attach another pretty quick. I have also used a 5 gallon bucket full of concrete before for a base. Just mix a bag of ready mix and set the upright pipe in it.

sounds like a winner! do you have any pix-they would greatly help. thanks! art

artmos said:
sounds like a winner! do you have any pix-they would greatly help. thanks! art

I guess pics may have to wait for now. My 7 yo says she vaguely remembers using the camera a few days ago. Doesn't remember where it went from there.