Summers Heat 55-SHP Pellet Feed Not Constant

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to Pellet Stove Ownership, so please bear with me here.

I am burning Hardwood Heat Pellets in a Used "new to me" Summers Heat 55-SHP Stove.

I put the lower three buttons on 6-4-1 and then after calling Support, I was able to Dial in a great 2-2-1 with complete burn, clean glass, and light ash. Flame was 6" to 9" in hight, not extreme dancing. Blue at bottom, White/Yellow in middle 2/3, Light Orange at tips. No Red or Black to be Seen.

The heat output was also amazing, on Low - 1 Blower 3.

Then it happened, the fire would burn low - almost out before new pellets would arrive.
(The Hopper Restrictor Plate open wide and Both Augers are turning)

One the pellets would enter the burn pot, there would be like 1, wait..., 2 wait...., and then a flood of pellets that seemed to almost fill the auger tube would arrive. This on a LFF of 2.

If I turn the Heat Setting Up and the 3-Buttons on 6-4-1 the same problems occur.

My Pellets are relatively clean, I pour a bag into 2 buckets / approx equal 20# ea.

I have cleaned the stove, and the piping is Simpson with 2' to T w/ cleanout cap, then 3' to 90 and cap. Outside air is used also to feed firebox.

The Previous Owners Lower Buttons were 1-3-1 I did write that down.