Taking the last Oak down without a chain saw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

golfandwoodnut

Minister of Fire
I have been clearing and leveling this spot for a pole barn for several months now. I have been debating on this last Oak for quite awhile. I liked the way it looked but it was just going to be a few feet from the pole barn and it was even close enough to land on the house. It so happened my one neighbor was having work done and this guy had some nice equipment. I asked him if he would like to make a few extra bucks and remove some stumps and this last Oak. He was hesitant because it could fall on the house. I climbed the tree up to the Y and put a strong rope on it then pulled it tight with my Bobcat in the distance. It took some digging with the claw you see but finally went, root ball and all. I already have a bunch of logs ready for milling so this bad boy is just ending up in my stacks. There were some big rounds I could hardly roll into the Bobcat. Equipment can sure come in handy. Hopefully will get the pole barn started soon now that the stumps are gone.

Attachments

• digging.jpg
    digging.jpg
    201.6 KB · Views: 600
  • going.jpg
    going.jpg
    161.2 KB · Views: 611
  • gone.jpg
    gone.jpg
    185.2 KB · Views: 613
Like my neighbor say's "If ya got 'chinery, use 'chinery.".

Yep, heavy equipment sure is nice to have. My farmer friends who hook me up all the time have a wheel loader with a grapple on it. Awesome for loading the big rounds, and getting logs out for easy cutting.

Looks like some nice burning there. Tall and straight.