Tree ID help Please!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Magus

Nov 17, 2010
Michigan
I am fairly new to burning wood. I picked up some wood today that needs to be seasoned. When I got the bucked pieces home OMG...I am going at the bucked pieces like a mad man. and I was able to get one piece off, can someone help me ID what kind of wood this is. it is VERY heavy!

Attachments

• DSCN5647.jpg
    DSCN5647.jpg
    247.3 KB · Views: 357
  • DSCN5649.jpg
    DSCN5649.jpg
    144.4 KB · Views: 369
Need a picture of the dry bark and end grain.

hey, only the guys and gals with guts will take an early stab at this one :)

not the best pics to go by for sure.

maybe hickory......

how would I go about splitting this stuff? I went at it with a new 8lb maul. It took 10 to 12 wacks to get 2 pieces off.

Also, being that my maul is brand new, do I need to sharpen it?

Swing the maul harder. You may need to get a lighter maul.

If you had a pic of the buds I'd hazard a guess on what type of tree.

Matt

Sure looks like it would split just fine. Straight grain, not stringy. If the maul is very blunt you might sharpen the edge some, but plenty of folks use dull mauls & some oeven claim they work better. How long are those rounds you're trying to split? Got them on a block or on solid ground? (I guess there's no soft ground anywhere in Michigan this time of year)
Better post some more pics for an I.D. I see several possibilities for that spit.