tree id help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nycreecy

Sep 8, 2010
Westchester NY
Hi All,
I noticed a blow down in a yard around the corner from me that would make an easy scrounge. When I asked about the tree, they wanted to know how much I would charge to remove. I'm not a pro, but left my card for them to get back to me. It's 10 ft away from the street and up a slight hill. Can someone help out with an id so I know if it's worth it? Location is Westchester NY.
Thanks.
IMG_0409.jpg

IMG_0410.jpg

Flamable.

Welcome to the forum nycreecy.

It is really hard to tell from the pictures what it is. However, it sounds like it would be easy to get. 10' and up a hill means you can roll the logs down. It does not look punky either.

Just tell us how it splits,seasons, then burns, LOL

I think it is Ailanthus/tree of heaven. not very good firewood, but it looks easy to get. Better than nothing.

How bad is it? I burn pine and poplar, the only wood I don't burn is willow.

Dune said:
How bad is it? I burn pine and poplar, the only wood I don't burn is willow.

That center looks hard to me......