Two years supply?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

basswidow

Minister of Fire
Oct 17, 2008
Milton GA
I see from posts that many of you keep up to 2 or more years supply of split wood. And this means, most of what you are burning has seasoned 2 years. I like that concept. Most of you have wood sheds too.

I am just getting started and I think I'll be able to gather enough for 09/10 season, but it will be wood cut and split now. I will get a moisture meter and hope it's good to go once cold weather kicks in. I may have to buy seasoned wood for 09/10 and the stuff I gather and split now - keep for 10/11. Most of what I am cutting is already down and some deadwood. But the stuff that was cut (bucked - not split) last september 08 and longer, is still green inside when split. Seasoning doesn't begin until split right?- and some woods season quicker - like ash and others longer like oak. I sure hope it's going to be ready - I will stack it in full sun and wind.

My question: Do you stack your wood co-mingled or stack the oak with oak, ash with ash? Right now - my split pile is all co-mingled, but I could stack it segregated by wood type and seasoning time? or does it not matter for you since you keep wood split in piles for 2 years before burning?

If I am going to keep 2 years on hand, plus have a seasons worth to burn I will need to do 15 cords this spring. I am not sure that is doable for me or if I have that kind of space. I don't have a wood shed either. Should I be setting this as my goal? Maybe 15 cords by next fall to give me more time? Build a shed?