ugh! smoke is coming out of my wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fusilli Jerry

Nov 20, 2010
New Jersey
Hello folks,

This is my first time on this forum and I'm hoping you can help. Even though I've been using my woodstove for years I'm kind of a newb with few skills. I'll try to add as much info as possible.

I have a Quadra Fire woodstove insert in my fireplace. We got it installed about ten years ago. We got the insert installed a couple of years after moving into the house. Prior to installing the insert we were unable to use the fireplace because smoke would always come back into the house. A liner was installed along with the insert and we have NEVER had any problems in all the years with the insert.

This year when I fired up the wood stove for the first time I quickly noticed the kindling was not catching as quickly as it should and soon I saw smoke coming into the house from underneath and above the insert. Ugh! I couldn't remember the last time we had the chimney cleaned (it was either last year or the year before) and I made an appointment to get it cleaned.

Yesterday the chimney guys came and told me the chimney cap was clogged with creosote and was really too small anyway. They brought down the cap and indeed it seemed clog. They installed a new and larger cap and told when they looked down the chimney they could tell it didn't need a cleaning and that I must have been burning hot fires and I should keep up the good work.