venting. up or down?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

crazytrain

Apr 1, 2011
southwestern Ohio
hello all! newbie here. We had our stove installed in Feb. 2011. HUGE savings over fuel oil. We bought the Harmon p-45 multifuel. We have been burning wood pellets thus far. Now for the question. When the piping was installed it goes straight out and a cap on the end with vent pointing down. Now a lot of heat is escaping through the vent so I wondered if i took the piping vertical and capped the top( with small gap) would that send more heat back out to the blower in the front? Or, if there are any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate any help.
Thanks in advance for your time.

Going vertical on your flue will only improve your draft and "Maybe" the way your stove burns. But the amount of heat should not change. By "Small gap", I hope you are not referring to restricting your airflow in the flue. This could be dangerous. Maybe I mis-read the post. But the flue pipe is meant to be Wide Open. Your heat output comes from your Heat Exchanger. Keeping your stove clean and on a steady maintenance schedule will give you the most heat