Vermont Castings Defiant and Vigilant questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Vindic8

Nov 5, 2012
Pacific Northwest
First off I am a serious newbie to running wood stoves. I bought a house recently and as it gets closer to the cold season I want to understand the function and capability of the stoves in my house. After doing research on the web, mainly on this forum, I find that what I have is a VC Vigilant on the main floor and a VC Defiant in the basement. I have found the manuals for these two models (also on this forum) but I am still having some trouble with figuring if my Defiant is two-function catalytic or not.

They are also on the same wall/chimney. I saw where some people have expressed concerns with that.

What steps should i take to insure these are in good functioning order prior to testing them out? They show use form the prior owner. There is some small amount of ash in the bottom of the units.

I do not plan to use these as my sole heat source. My primary use would be occasional fires for special cold days but we do live in an area known to have ice storms. Some of which can knock the power out for 7-10 days. I would like to be able to use this as a solid backup heat source. I am buying a couple pallets of energy logs for emergency fuel but I would be burning standard cord wood for recreational use.

The house was built in 1984.

You have a great site here, a fantastic resource.

Thank you in advance for any feedback.

12%2B-%2B2

12+-+1

12+-+6

04.jpg

21.jpg

Nice stoves there!