Ways to Make Our Planet Greener

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

elkimmeg

As an inspector I visit many construction sites. I see one alarming waste. No No not the home, but what sits in the dumpsters.

Carboard can and should be recycled but its the wood that bothers me more. There is an amazing amount of wood being tossed out.
Most of it clean wood. I often wondered if their was a way to recycle that wood. Maybe chewed up into chip board or manufactured lumber
What about processing it into Pellets / bio combressed logs? Personally I would never throw out a good piece of lumber. I would use it the next job.

Just wondering how to cut down the waste and turn it back to another productive use.. Part of the pellet higher price and shortages of supplies is competition for raw material.

I agree Elk. It's as if all sense of environmental awareness was dropped when construction began. It begins often with a big whomping burnpile of green wood and debris that smolders for days and continues from there. It's a rare job where recyclables are separated and good wood is saved.

I agree 100% on this one. We grabbed quite a bit of the construction waste from a local house, with the permission of the builders, and have been using it for kindling and small fires. Even that is wasteful though, as many of it is still very useable lengths of dimensional lumber.