What kind of wood is this?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tfapps

Jan 5, 2012
Ct
This is my second year with my stove so I'm still a novice, but I just split about a cord of this stuff and was wondering if anyone knew what it is? It has an orange-ish color to it.

IMG_0061.jpg

Let's see if my wood id skills are any good , could it be Cherry ?

What says the wood pros ?

Looks like Black Cherry.How's the smell? Is it kinda like cough syrup,but pleasant?

Yep looks like black cherry..:)

Another vote for black cherry. Smells good, dries fast, and burns great.

I think it's Bradford Pear....twisted grain and lighter color grain than Cherry to my eyes and we have a lot of both species round here.

I wasn't quite sold on the cherry, the bark doesn't seem "scaled" enough like our native black cherries around here. But I could not think of a valid alternative either? And the ones I'm familiar with are not "orangish", more reddish.

My tree ID book doesn't have it and the only photos I could find online over the last few minutes didn't convince me either. The photos that were there seemed lighter in color with wider splits in the bark

bark.jpg

My tree ID book doesn't have it and the only photos I could find online over the last few minutes didn't convince me either. The photos that were there seemed lighter in color with wider splits in the bark

View attachment 82460