When to clean / brush?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using my Englander 12-FP since November. I have some creosote build-up, but I don't know when or how often I should clean.

I'm a newbie, but I've done lots of reading on this forum, so I'll go ahead and stipulate what I've learned as to how to avoid/lessen creosote formation:

1. Use dry, seasoned wood only. This probably sums it up: [quote author="Backwoods Savage" date="1295140180"]...Most every time when someone has a creosote problem it can be traced back to the wood.[/quote]
2. Have hot fires & avoid smoldering.

I want to know at what point should I brush my chimney. I have about 7' of double wall stove pipe and 9' of class A stainless with a rain cap and no spark arrestor.

The temps are mild here in East Texas today, so I decided to inspect my chimney. I have the expected loose crud on my rain cap, but nothing obstructive. The lumen of the chimney has about 1/4" evenly distributed, flaky, black build-up. Just blowing on it knocks it loose, and lightly brushing it with my finger reveals the shiny stainless underneath.

I'm having to order a poly brush as I cannot use my father's metal brush on my class A, and the local shops only have metal brushes as well. (before a debate breaks out regarding the necessity of using only a poly brush on stainless, the instruction manual for my class A explicitly states to use a "plastic chimney cleaning brush".