Which stove would you use for this application?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RKS130

Minister of Fire
Oct 14, 2011
Lower Hudson Valley, NY
I am a first season newbie to pellet heat - and loving it. Obviously there are imperfections which vary with the stove, the pellets and the house itself, vis a vis layout, stove placement, insulation, etc. One drawback to pellet heat in our house is that the floors are cold on the first level, which is above an uninsulated and unfinished basement space and crawlspace.

While, admittedly, this winter has been mild so far (said he, spitting three times over his left shoulder for luck) I am more than thrilled with the performance of my stove (Accentra FS) which has carried the house on all but the most brutally cold (under 20° around here) days/nights.

However in the interest of keeping Madame Defarge and the kids (15 year old twins - boy/girl) happy, I am seriously considering adding a second stove next year. A friend who heats primarily with cord wood has suggested that a stove in the unfinished basement, to warm the floor on the first level and thereby add thermal mass along with heat moving up through the envelope of the building, would solve a lot of issues.