Wood hauling with weak motor

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Danno77

Minister of Fire
Oct 27, 2008
Hamilton, IL
OK, this is a two-fold question that is relating to a decision I made rather hastily a few days ago.

Back story:

I have a dead rider with a 12hp briggs engine in it. it has a few good parts on it, I'll probably sell it for a couple of bucks or pull parts off later....

I have a crappy push mower with a 3(ish) hp briggs on it. the pull cord and cover are long gone, i've been starting it with a power drill for the past two years (not kidding) and it runs well.

Dad gave a nice self-propelled with a 6.5hp engine (kohler maybe) and the deck and self-propelled system are crappy and need more work than I'd like to put into it. The engine is awesome.

my plan (too late to completely talk me out of it)

Take out 12hp engine from rider (done)

put in 3hp engine into rider (done-ish)

put 6.5hp engine onto non-self-propelled mower deck (next on list)

Question #1:
I bought the smallest pulley I could for the 3hp engine and have it mounted into the rider. I need to get some front wheels on the thing, and tonight I think I'll see if it will even move....DO you think 3hp can move a rider even in 1st gear? I hope so. I figure it will, but it will go slowly

Question #2:
I'd like to use it to pull around a little dump garden cart (i took the deck off of it, I'll never use it to mow again). Do you think it can pull anything of weight with that dinky little engine? (i.e. small loads of firewood)