Wood scrounging / hunting tips and advice wanted please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DonNC

Jan 3, 2011
Fayetteville, NC
Im new to burning but want to be prepared for next season. I see alot of people on here talking about scrounging up wood but never see how or where. I bought a cord of wood for 130 for this season and found a ton of pallets behind the flooring store that they were happy to have me haul off. But I want some good hardwoods that I can start piling up for next year. I would really like your advice based on your own experiences.

Thanks

DonNC said:
Im new to burning but want to be prepared for next season. I see alot of people on here talking about scrounging up wood but never see how or where. I bought a cord of wood for 130 for this season and found a ton of pallets behind the flooring store that they were happy to have me haul off. But I want some good hardwoods that I can start piling up for next year. I would really like your advice based on your own experiences.

Thanks

Craigs list is one source. Trees fall or are cut down for whatever reason and people want them hauled off for free.

You could also drive around after a storm and offer to take fallen trees from peoples yards. Some folks get uppity about insurance though.