Wow, that was hot!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CountryBoy19

Minister of Fire
Jul 29, 2010
Southern IN
This is my first year burning wood so I'm on a learning curve here.

I have an EPA non-cat stove, and in the past I've often worried that it was getting too hot. I borrowed an IR thermo from my dad so I could check temps more easily until I get things down.

Anyways, I was recently reading here about a person experience with secondary burn etc. He mentioned that just cracking the damper a little bit dropped his stove temp because letting the primary air burn starved the secondaries of some of the fuel they were getting. It made sense to me, so I decided to try it to see if that is where I was going wrong in controlling my stove.

So last night we had a fire, good secondary ignition and all. I dampered the stove all the way down after the secondaries got going; stove temp was right at 600 degrees. I decided to just barely crack the damper to see if it would drop the temp a bit as mentioned. Within 5 minutes the stove was an inferno, and temp of the glass was 830 degrees.

Guess the cracked damper thing doesn't work, and I'm still having problems keeping this thing under control. I don't know what's going to happen when we get some truly cold weather and I load the firebox up all the way...

What is your setup?