1st year, what have you learned.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

skinnykid

May 6, 2008
Next to a lake in NH
This is my first year heating with wood and I already have learned a couple of things.

I am learning how to control the air intake to burn more how I want it to burn.

I am also finding out the smaller splits are better than larger ones. The smaller ones allow me more options to stuff the fire box for over night burn. the larger ones don't pack as nice.

Anyone else have any cool tricks they have learned that may not be no brainers like, don't burn down your house.

Make sure your wood last a full season or two ;-)

I have learned that when it isn't as cold outside, you can't close the primary as much or you will spend an hour cleaning the glass.

So far I've learned that the old Vigilant I bought will provide over 7 hours of burn time over night. Which is nice.

I've learned that the wood stove takes the dampness out of the house, another plus. The past four days have been mid 30s at night and mid 50s during the day, which has been perfect weather to test the stove and figure out the ins and outs of setting up temperature and burn times. Normally I would have been using oil heating the past four days, but even with just one stove at one end of the house it I have noticed a difference and haven't needed to run the boiler.

The past week I have gotten better and altering the temperature with greater detail.

The old stove isn't as efficient as a new one, but I definitely feel I am getting the most bang for my buck.