1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

2007 Enviro Empress FPI

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by T_lee05, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. T_lee05

    T_lee05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I just bought my 1st house and it has an enviro empress fpi in it. Needless to say, I am utterly frustrated by this darn thing.

    I just spent $310 today to have the high heat sensor replaced and no sooner did the tech leave, the #2 light started flashing and the unit shut down. We pulled the unit out and thoroughly cleaned it 2 weeks ago (which it needed it bad!)....

    Has anyone else had this problem? Ideas as to what it might be?

    We pulled it out of the fireplace and have it sitting on the hearth to restart it. It's been burning on #3 setting for a couple hours now. I was thinking that with it being in the fireplace that one of the sensors or vacuum thingy (yes, I'm a ditz at knowing the part names!!) might have gotten hot and made the high sensor trip.

    I certainly can't afford $310 service calls.
    Thanks for letting me vent!

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    The unit is getting hot and tripping the high limit sensor. Most likely your convection blower is dirty and in need a cleaning(clean all the fur-dust of the blower blades) and lube(motor has oil ports). Also was the vent properly cleaned? Cleaning the ash pan and inside the unit isn't enough. All area's that collect ash need to be cleaned.

    Down load the manuals for the unit to get better familiar with it! They can be downlaoded free at the Enviro website.

    Manual(Note the cleaning schedule).
    http://www.enviro.com/images/manuals-brochures/owners-manuals/C-13842 Instruction Empress FPI Domestic Owner's Manual.pdf

    Service or technical manual(has the statis lights error codes)
    http://www.enviro.com/images/manuals-brochures/owners-manuals/C-11914 Instruction Empress-A FPI Domestic Technical Manual.pdf
  3. T_lee05

    T_lee05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the reply....we did all that and it's still pushing the code 2.

    Cleaned it that was sparkling new!!!
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

    So the stove was removed from the fireplace, and all the blowers and auger motor were removed, cleaned, oiled, and re-installed. The combustion gasket was also replaced. You also took the stove outdoors and used high pressure air to blow all the ash traps out, and banged on the steel back wall to dislodge all the hidden crud.

    Does this sound VERY close to what you did, or had done?
  5. T_lee05

    T_lee05 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Yeppers....we did all that after we had downloaded all the manuals for the unit.
  6. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    How does the convection blower sound?
  7. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Did you try running the convect. blower in while it was out of the stove, using a test power cord? It's possible it wasn't running at full speed.
  8. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Or spinning at all with the lower voltage from the controller. When they are on their last legs they sometimes need a boost to get them spinning. If this is the case? Replace the blower or motor.

    If you remove the blower please post the motor numbers or snap a pic of the label. Possible we might find an aftermarket which could save over OEM(expensive!)
  9. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I found something in my notes, The impeller on the convection blower is plastic. There is a metal clip that snaps over the impeller hub to keep it from spinning on the shaft. The clip often falls off and the impeller then slips/lose's flow.

    Worth a check?
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2013

Share This Page