203K loan for renovation?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I bought my house on a 203k. It was a foreclosure, no kitchen, no heat, unknown septic and well, no flooring, etc....

I'm a contractor, all my banking is done through the local bank where I also got my loan. It was incredibly simple, but a lot of that was probably due to the fact that it's a small (2 branch) bank in a small town. They couldn't write a mortgage on a property with no heat, so this was their solution. I think I took one draw, did the rest out of pocket, the small bank was a breeze to work with on all of it.

I would really suggest making sure you have an establishment that you like. If you have a builder in mind don't be afraid to pick their brain as well. In my case there were no delays, I've been on jobs where we had to leave and come back because the bank inspector wasn't available to look at the job and release a draw, or there was a misunderstanding between the owner and the bank about draw release points, etc... All that just adds up to extra costs for the owner.

The only hang up was the bank required the purchase of points to initiate a loan (2009), there was a misunderstanding about how these points would transfer over to the mortgage when the loan was converted. Essentially, the bank had me pay something like $1500 in points to "initiate" the loan, which dropped the rate. I only held this loan for about 4 months. When taking out the mortgage, the points I bought on the 203 were tossed out the window, when they were supposed to be applied to the 30 yr loan!