30-nc air wash

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

realstihl

Minister of Fire
Dec 4, 2007
eastern kansas
I've been using the 30-nc off and on for a couple months now and have been getting a sooted up glass. Here's a few things I've noticed. The handle on mine is further down when the door is closed than most I've seen in pictures and videos. If the door is closed tight the handle side is closer to the stove body than the hinge side. Here's the problem: The further the door closes the less clearance there is between the air wash plate and glass retainer. In my case it is close to touching. It's really hard to see it. It is an oem gasket so I know that it's the right one. My fix at this point is to slightly bunch the new door gasket so there will be some clearance. I don't know what the clearance is but it shouldn't be touching. Hope it works!!!

2 things come to mind. One is that the collar stop on the door latch got installed a bit off This would only affect handle position when closed. Second is that when the gasket was installed it was pulled tight instead of just placed in the channel ,actually should be compressed linerally when installed which would make it a bit larger in diameter.