500 gal. Propane tank boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kentstang

Aug 11, 2014
indiana
Hello I am new to the sight and am about to undertake a boiler project. I have an idea on how we were thinking of how we could make a tank into a boiler may be the wrong direction.

Would it work if we took the 500 gallon tank and cut it in half. Then fabricate a face for it to install a door along with a fan and barometric damper. Cut a flue stack in the tank.
Then to pick up the heat take copper tubingand wrap around the tank.

After the tubing is on maybe make a box around it and line with rock wool. Then lag that. Then bring the heat into the house with a circulating pump like a gas fired boiler? Any help would be appreciated I might be going completely off track. I am a certified welder so that won't be a problem. Thanks again

You would be better off with a 1000 gallon tank and a smaller tank for the firebox and let firebox heat the water. a secondary chamber could be built also. search this site and youtube you will find several variations of the build idea.

Is there some kind if standard to keep as far as how many gallons of water need to be kept at a certain temperature to maintain BTUs at the air handler? We are going to attempt to heat a 2200sqft moduler. And maybe some of a pole barn if feasible.

What you want to do is make your own boiler?
So there is much to learn in regards to heat transfer and energy created and energy stored.