a question for you scientific types out there ....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firegal

Jan 2, 2008
NW CT
Why is it that wet wood burns faster than dry, seasoned wood?

You would think that having moisture would slow down combustion, and therefore the wood would last longer and more time would elapse between reloading. But such is not the case (as I know so well ...).

I have no background in thermal dynamics, so I'm at a loss as to why this is. Any ideas?

Firegal

Wet wood should not burn faster than dry wood if all the other variables are equal. Some of the other variables are: type of wood, any rot present, size of pieces, number of pieces, inital temperature of fire box when the wood is loaded and amount of oxygen available (draft).

I know that when I switched to some wood that was not as dry as the wood I had previosly been burning that it burned faster because I split them much smaller to get a good hot burn.

Yeah, with wet wood I usually split smaller and give it more air, so I would think that's why it burns faster, you're releasing the BTU's faster, unfortunately many of them are used to dry the wood out before it burns.