1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

AcuTron II Control Board

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by bigbronco, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Capacitor.JPG Hey guys, new here. I was just wondering if anyone knows what size the ceramic disc capacitor is that sits just to the left of the connection plug on the back side of an AcuTron II control board? My capacitor blew yesterday during a wind storm. It blew out the side. I can only read the last digit of the two rows #9 and #1. Any help would be great. It looks like a five minute fix. I really don't want to order new one for $300.

    Thanks bb

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,839
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    My old board has a resister in that spot.

    Oh well, If the capacitor popped then it may be very likely the Triac(s) may also be shot!

    If you need info on a new board you can email me. Good luck.

    Attached Files:

  3. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Hello Don,

    Thanks for the reply. Sorry that pic was taken from the net last night at work. I attached the actual board here. I don't mind if I have to swap out the triacs. I just don't know the value of the capacitor. I don't want to replace it with the wrong one. Dose anyone know of an approximate value that would work safely.

    Again thanks for any help. bb acutron board.JPG
  4. Pelleting In NJ

    Pelleting In NJ Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Loc:
    Central NJ
    Are you sure that is a cap? Could be a MOV transient voltage suppressor. Is the part connected across the 110VAC that feeds the board?
  5. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Do you think it could be a MOV?? Do they put them on pellet stove boards? The board went when the power line transformer in front of my house exploded.
  6. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    Surge protector??
  7. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    It was on Panamax MIW-SURGE-1G Single Gang In-Wall Surge Protector. I guess I won't count on that again. surge.jpg
  8. Nicholas440

    Nicholas440 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Loc:
    Northeast Oh
    Looks like that too a pretty good hit, it appears from the photo that the board in that area got a tad scorched when it blew.... There is a place on the web that does repair jobs pretty reasonable on main boards.... Paramax MW Surge protector didn't save my DVD player or TV either last summer I have no faith in those anymore....
  9. Pelleting In NJ

    Pelleting In NJ Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Loc:
    Central NJ
    Surge suppressors are not a guarentee to protect equipment from all possible powerline spikes. Most electronics manufacturers have some minimal surge protection designed in, typically like the small MOV (if thats what it is on this Acutron board). The surge energy absorbtion ability (Joules or "J" rating) of a MOV is directly proportional to its physical size, you will usually see much larger MOVs inside the surge suppressors units. Better surge suppressors also use at least 3 MOVs, one across Hot-to-Neutral, one across Hot-to-chassis/safety ground, and one across Neutral-to-chassis/safety ground.

    The Panamax surge suppressor is rated at 1350J, on the small side, but that's all you can fit into a duplex wall socket sized unit. It does have the 3 MOV configuration.

    If the blown MOV is across the 110VAC input lines of the board (trace which connector pins feed the 110VAC), you could just remove the MOV (clip it out with a diag wire cutter), and the stove should work again. The input fuse to the stove may have blown when the MOV blew, so check that too. I think Radio Shack sells MOVs, just buy a larger one and solder it into the board, they cost a few $.

    http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062574
  10. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Pelleting In NJ, YOU ARE THE MAN!!! Thanks you so much for your time and input. I have already removed the MOV and repaired two short traces on the bottom side. I'm going to Radio Shack today. I'll post an update.

    Again thank you, bb
  11. Pelleting In NJ

    Pelleting In NJ Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Loc:
    Central NJ
  12. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Okay, I replaced the MOV. Put it all back together, pushed the start button and nothing. It seems like a fuse. No power. Pelleting In NJ. You mentioned the input fuse?? I looked there is not alot in there. Its a pretty simple design. I can't seem to see a fuse anywhere. Any ideas? All three Triacs tested healthy. Below 10 degrees past three days.

    Thanks again, bb
  13. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Found another bad trace. Repaired and up and running.

    Thanks guys, bb
  14. Chancey

    Chancey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    shelby oh
    I have the same Acutron 2 control board can you tell me what you replaced on your board. Mine doesn't show any burn marks. Which ones control the 110v. Also how did you test it. Sorry
  15. bigbronco

    bigbronco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Hey Chancey, I replaced the burnt MOV and repaired a couple of cooked traces. There is a place right down the road from my house that makes these boards. It is a very small electronics factory. They make them for multiple pellet stove manufacturers.

    Infitec, Inc.

    6500 Badgley Road | East Syracuse NY 13057 USA

    You can email them and they will sell you one directly. Much cheaper than the online stores.

    Good luck,
    bb

Share This Page