1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Also feed adjuster question...

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Kara K, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. Kara K

    Kara K New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Pennsylvania
    This part is confusing to my slightly, in that, I get mixed info. on whether or not to even touch the level, guide says 4 and dealers wife said you may have to tweek this, as you set desired temps and outside temps? Do i ofyen need to adjust this?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,422
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    set at 4 and leave alone.
  3. Kara K

    Kara K New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Pennsylvania
    Ahh, thanks for the confirmation, whew, one less thing to worry about!
  4. Kara K

    Kara K New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Pennsylvania
    Ok forgive me, so im still skeptical about this... We put in a bag last night at 10:30, the hopper is almost empty... Isnt that a little fast? Wouldnt it be feeding too fast? How does adjusting room temperature effect, the feed wouldnt need to be as fast if I were turning down.the temp right? Please help me understand this better... : ) sorry, im trying here, info. over load

    Thank you so much
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,523
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That feed control sets a limit on how long the auger will feed pellets at any one time.

    If your stove calculates it needs more pellets it will turn the auger on until it meets its needs or the limit is hit.

    It then waits until it needs more pellets or the time limit the auger must remain off is met. Which ever is longer.

    So running with too low of a feed limit results in the stove not getting enough pellets to satisfy the probes settings.

    Those probes control the firing of the stove via the temperature reading they provide the control board in the stove.

    The knobs you get to change merely set various goals and limits.

    The manual provides the method to properly set the feed limit knob once set it is a forget it setting.
  6. mark2m

    mark2m Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Loc:
    Orange County, NY
    My take on the feed rate. Hopefully it makes sense.

    The feed rate is there to compensate for the size and quality of pellet you are burning. A poorer quality pellet will require more pellets for the heat setting you have dialed in as will the size. A longer pellet won't feed as many pellets as a shorter one and vice versa. When running your stove at full tilt, you set your feed rate to keep 1inch of ash at the end of your burn pot. This prevents the stove from feeding to many pellets and pushing unburned pellets in the ash bin. Generally setting a feed rate of 4 meets the needs of most pellets you will burn. Remember it is a maximum time in one 1 min that the auger will turn. If the auger runs for 15 secs and that meets the needs of the heat demand it won't need to feed more pellets. If it needs more more pellets to meet the heat demand and it hits it max time, oh well no more pellets until the next cycle. You really shouldn't run into something like that at a low, medium or medium high settings at a feed rate of 4. Really I believe it is only something that has a big effect at full tilt because the stove has no idea if the pellets are completely burning. Oh and setting a feed rate really low such as 2 will have a negative effect on you heat output since it won't feed as many pellets as needed. This is from my experience with using my P43.
  7. Kara K

    Kara K New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Pennsylvania
    Great explanations, thank you both!! I understand it better now!!
  8. rmcgr8one

    rmcgr8one New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    I have a p38i, just got it a few weeks ago. If I am running my stove on room temp and auto so wouldn't it adjust the feed rate as needed on its own. Mine has been set on 3 since I got it. But I thought in auto that it would just adjust itself.
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,523
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    In a word no.

    You need to give the stove a limit that won't stop it from being able to make the adjustments it needs to satisfy the selected temperature you tell it to keep.
  10. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,422
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    What does the owners manual say? Mine says set to 4.
  11. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,422
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    The stove will abjust the feed rate to maintain the set temp up to the max that you set on the dial.

Share This Page