Another install question......

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JSos

Hearth Supporter
Nov 24, 2009
Culpeper, VA
Hi everybody!! My name is Josh. I am new to fireplaces and inserts altogether. I just recently bought a cheapo Vogelzang Colonial wood burning insert from Northerntool.com. Like i said i don't know much about fireplaces but i have a rectangular damper and the exit pipe for the insert is 6". How do i get through that damper with the flu pipe? Since i have a ceramic flu it is ok just to run 5' of flex stainless flex pipe off of the insert? I am not trying to be cheap but i just don't have the money to run a $500 pipe all the way up the fireplace. Any input will be helpful and appreciated. Thanks.

Keep in mind that if you do not do a full liner, you will have to pull the insert every time you sweep the chimney. Also bear in mind that you need to check any local codes, which may dictate a full liner in some places. Welcome to the forums!

Sawzall. and a good supply of ear plugs, and don't forget the safety glasses.