Any Bees Here?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

30WCF

Minister of Fire
Aug 31, 2016
North Carolina
I’ve been keeping some bees for several years.

Had a hive swarm up into a tree about 30’ high. It took them almost 2 days to go into their new home.

IMG_4089.jpegIMG_4088.jpegIMG_4099.jpeg

After lunch I came home and there was a second swarm in a smaller tree. I put a box under them and they were still sitting outside when it got dark.

IMG_4108.jpegIMG_4111.jpegIMG_4109.jpegIMG_4107.jpeg

We always listened to the sounds young queens make when almost coming out of their cells. Then we would break open the cells in the evening and have a lattice in front of the opening so they could not swarm, and then let them battle it out overnight. The strongest queen wins.

And if we wanted a second colony, we would seek out the old queen right before the new ones appear and put them in a new box.

Reactions: 30WCF
Yeah. I got a little behind on management this year. I’ll let things settle then combine them back probably to make honey hives.

Reactions: stoveliker
That's some pretty clever swarm collecting! I used to keep bees. Loved them, but got tired and too sad loosing hives. I collected several swarms back then including one up about 25' in a big fir tree. That was a bear of a task. I had to go up to the full height of my extension ladder, bouncing on the branches, while steadying a box on my head with one hand and using a pole to nudge them down into the box.