1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Any savings in spinning your own chain?

Post in 'The Gear' started by Wyatt, Jan 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wyatt

Wyatt New Member

Loc:
    Whatcom County, WA
    I was kicking around the idea of buying a 100' reel of chain and breaking it up myself. I figure I could get in the neighborhood of 22 (20") chains, but I've never done it before. Is there a loss of quality by doing it yourself and does anyone know how much the Stihl NG7 rivet spinner/chain breaker costs? 22 chains would last a long time, but it might just make me so lazy that I throw away dull chains knowing that I have so many more, which would end up costing more in the long run. Any thoughts?

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. Eric Johnson

Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

Loc:
    Central NYS
    I usually buy loops of chain assembled for about $11, so there's not much incentive to make my own. But there's nothing wrong with doing it and it's kind of fun..
  3. joshuaviktor

joshuaviktor New Member

Loc:
    Northwest New Jersey
    Where do you get chains for 11?

Small store, mail order, big box store?

Just curious.

Joshua
  4. Eric Johnson

Loc:
    Central NYS
    That's about what they cost at most chain saw dealers in the Northeast and New England. I buy mine at trade shows in the summer from saw dealers who exhibit, where they tend to be a bit cheaper than retail. But not by much. You're not getting any bargains if you buy chainsaws and accessories at the big box stores.
  5. babalu87

babalu87 New Member

Loc:
    middleborough, ma.
    Where is a good site to find out about saw/logging trade shows?

We used to have card units on our knitting machines at the plat that had two sets of chains on them, making chains is fun

EDIT
    plat, its plant!