Anyone have a geothermal heat pump system?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BIGDADDY

Feeling the Heat
May 17, 2012
What are the positives and negatives? Is it worth the cost and are there any government assistance ?

Thanks

I have a 4 ton Climatemaster unit that is water to air. I have had it for like 9 months and I love it.

-Positives, really cheap to heat each month and it does not matter what the outdoor temperature does as long as it was installed and designed correctly.
-Negatives, expensive to install and my lawn just started to look normal about 2 months ago.

Do you think $18,000 for a 5 ton climate master the tranquility is a good price with 1200 feet of horizontal pipe in my yard?

Do you think $18,000 for a 5 ton climate master the tranquility is a good price with 1200 feet of horizontal pipe in my yard?

5 ton is a big unit, how many sf are you heating? What kind of soils do you have?

I have a 4 ton three stage ( two stages of geo and heat strips ) Waterfurnace that was installed about a year ago. The AC and free hot water heating is great, especially this summer. The heat is nice but it is not hot heat, it is warm heat. It takes awhile to get use to if you have been heating with gas or propane. I have 2400 feet of pipe in the ground connected to a 4 pipe horizontal loop system. I am in central Ohio.