Anyone in Alabama?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Smock2015

Dec 8, 2015
Alabama
I'm new to burning and in the south. Seems strange but it gets cold here too and it's cheaper in my eyes than electric. Would just like to know if anyone else is from down south or has any helpful tips or anything for this region

Well, I am in Georgia. I have always used my wood fireplace quite a bit but this is the first year with a wood insert. I have found that even with our relatively mild temperatures, it has made the house so much more comfortable. We have a heat pump and it never really gives you a warm, comfortable feeling house. It is more like it is blowing lukewarm air around all the time. Since I am new to this also I don't really have any tips since I am still learning. I am sure the guys up north would laugh at me going outside in flip flops and a t-shirt to bring in wood to stoke the fire when it is 60 outside, but I am enjoying it.

I feel the same way if its 60 or lower I'm making a fire. I've only had my stove for about a month but I'm trying to run it as much as I can to try and "figure it out" before it gets below freezing.. I have a freestanding stove not an insert but it seems like a good bed of coals is key to get the bigger loads to lite off. What size firebox does your insert have?

I'm new to burning and in the south. Would just like to know if anyone else is from down south or has any helpful tips or anything for this region