aquastat/Return temp question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gradwell

Mar 26, 2008
western pa
Thanks to all for their insite on this site over the past year. The knowledge gained has made my Econoburn install much much easier. I am a newbie to wood burning let alone the complexities of these units.

Keeping my newbie status in mind, here comes my question. First my layout. My home is new construction about 2900 sq. Ft. In-slab radiant. Additionally I have about 1500 Sq. Ft. In slab radiant out building that the Econoburn is housed. The out building is a little over 200 Ft. from the house. My system is designed with 5 zones calling for 95* water to each of the zones. No storage. I fired up the unit for the first time last week and worked out a couple of the minor kinks. Actually got the fire started and gassifying in under 10 minutes (needless to say I was pretty excited about this since I had never even started a fire before other than a camp fire). Got the kinks worked out, and intended to Fire up today for the winter. Once fired today, I gradually turned on each zone and adjusted the mixing valves for each zone accordingly. Once all zones were set, I noticed that the return temps to the boiler were coming back at 180*. This seems surprising since the water returning in each zone was between 50* and 60*. I do have piping between the supply and return at the boiler. I do not however have a termovar or danfos. Just a ball valve that I thought I could manually adjust. Even with the ball valve completely closed, i still get returns of 180*.