ash build up in a Dutch West

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

trailblaze

Hearth Supporter
Aug 20, 2008
South West PA
ok so to get the ever burn system "ready to use" i have come to the conclusion (from other threads) that there needs to be a nice bed of hot ash on the grate and a good hot burning fire....

my question is... my ash just falls into the tray, do i need to let the tray fill up then let ash accumulate on the grate before i close the dampener for the "ever burn" to work?? i burned for 7-8 hours and i hardly had any ash/ ambers, what am i doing wrong?

This is my first year with a Dutch West but the few times I have burned I have had the everburn system working.

Your right that the ash will fall through the great but by the time it gets that small it's not adding the amount of heat that you would want and need for the everburn system. It is the bigger chunks of Hot coals say the size of your fist. So get a good fire going and let it run hot until most of it is hot bright red coals, the size of your fist and even bigger and some smaller. Refill your fire box let everything ignite but don't leave it so long that your coals peter out. Let the heat build up to at least 500 degree's ( stack temp ). Then turn on the everburn system.

Another way to judge the coals would be to get them to what would be the perfect cooking coals for an outdoor fire. That point where they are still big and hot but they are done burning ( for the most part ). I don't know if you have ever cooked over an open fire but if you have that is what you are shooting for. Cooking coals.