Ashley 5660 auger not adjusting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

garratttpe

Dec 17, 2018
va
HI All Newbie here, I bought a house with a Ashley 5660L S/N CH 19546-36, I am overseas and this what the wife is telling me.... she moved in to the house last week

starts and works fine but appears that the auger feed rate is stuck on high although the led bar graph says 1. the house gets up to 87 degrees..(1480 sq feet) and I live in the Charlottesville VA area.

I had her set the thermostat to 70 and the hopper is still going full bore and a very "pretty" flame inside.
I have looked on the internet to no avail about what could be making the auger stuck on speed 5.

I am assuming something with the control panel..I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP OR GUIDANCE..

V/r Larry

Is she sure the stove is in thermostat mode? Mine has two thermostat modes, an on/off mode and a high/low mode (where the fire never goes completely out). There is also a manual mode, in which the stove ignores the thermostat and goes by the "heat level" setting on the control panel (changing the heat level varies the convection fan speed and the auger feed rate).

I've been running on manual so far, and even on the lowest heat level, the stove room gets up to 80° unless the weather is well below freezing. If the outside temp gets above 50°, we have to turn the stove off.

Don't know about your model, but on mine the auger feed rate is adjustable to some extent. Have you found the manual anywhere, in your on-line searching? It might be worth trying to find, in case it has some troubleshooting advice.