Basement Stove - improving efficiency?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mainematt

Jan 1, 2016
Maine
Here's my setup - I bought a small (~1100 sq foot) ranch with a partially finished basement and good sized woodstove. The stove is in the middle of the basement, with a passive register (hole in the floor with a grate) above the stove and a cold air return across the room. Access to the basement is via an unheated attached garage, so using the stairs as a conduit to get heat up to the main level isn't an option.

I'm pretty new to this house, and there are a lot of things I'd do differently if I was setting it up from scratch, but this I what I've got for now, and it heats the house just fine. That said, I feel like I'm burning more wood than I ought to be for a little house, so I'm looking for small ways to get a bit more efficiency out of the existing setup.

It's an open floor plan, so I get decent airflow, but I'm wondering if a register fan (e.g. http://amzn.to/1R26uuz) would help?

Any other thoughts on squeezing out a bit more efficiency on the cheap?

Given a year or two to save up, I'll be making some changes, but in the meantime, I'm looking to get the most out of what I have.

Is the basement insulated? If not, you are likely pumping a huge amount of heat through the concrete or block into the subsoil of your lawn.

Is the basement insulated? If not, you are likely pumping a huge amount of heat through the concrete or block into the subsoil of your lawn.