1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Best thermostat I've found

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by Nofossil, Nov 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,419
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    I'm curious about what thermostats people are using. I also though I'd share the best one that I've found in my own research - the Carrier Debonair 33cs071. I got mine off of eBay. It's a commercial thermostat with a bunch of great features:

    1) It runs off of the 24Vac supplied by the furnace controller, so it doesn't need batteries.
    2) The deadband - the difference between turn-on and turn-off - is programmable.
    3) It has the ability to be externally set back. I use that to set all the the thermostats back when I'm heating with oil.
    4) It has two-stage outputs - think of it as 'need heat' and 'really need heat'. I use that to control changeover to backup oil heat.
    5) To limit cycling of the boiler, valves, and pump, they are programmable to limit the number of cycles per hour.
    6) You can easily request a temporary override of the set temperature, after which it goes back to normal.

    [​IMG]

    For the gadget minded, I don't think it gets much better.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. titan

    titan Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    599
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    These are my favourite-they'll operate just about any hvac equipment.Also more user-friendly than most.

    Attached Files:

  3. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,688
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    "It has the ability to be externally set back."
    How does that work? Another controller that interfaces with a phone line? Web?
  4. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,419
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    It has a pair of contacts that cause it to go into setback if the contacts are closed. If you had a bunch of these, you could connect them all to a single switch, aquastat, timer, or (as in my case) a relay that controls all of them together.

    Higher end thermostats designed for residential use often have a time-based setback mode. I didn't want that because I want to heat the house to a higher temperature if I have a fire going, regardless of the time of day. My relay causes them to go off of setback any time the wood boiler or heat storage tank is hot.
  5. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,419
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Thanks. I'm checking out the spec PDFs right now. I like the touch screen.
  6. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,332
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page