Best time to buy wood pellets?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

volleyrca

Hearth Supporter
Mar 1, 2010
MA
Hey all,

I'm fairly new to burning wood pellets - I moved into an apartment with a pellet stove in a sunroom that was added onto the house. I've heard that the best time to buy for getting a good price is early Spring. I thought I'd ask here for advice on when is the best time to buy and what kind of prices I should expect for a half-ton (picked-up). I've noticed some of the suppliers near me are advertising sales now, with pellets going for about $250/ton but I wonder if the prices will get even better in April?

I'd appreciate any advice/suggestions people have to offer. I live in Eastern MA.

Thanks,
-Bob

As you can imagine, this is a perennial hot topic in this forum.

For one earlier discussion, click on:

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/53279/

There seems to be a consensus that April-May is on average the best time, but that may not be true every single year. It's a matter of playing the odds and, maybe, looking for bargains.

Because you are new, I would recommend strongly that you experiment with different pellet brands. Pellets are not all the same, so try a few bags of some different brands and see what you like. Look for the amount of heat, the amount of ash, and so forth. Good luck and welcome to wood pellet heating. Next winter, you are going to have some warm and enjoyable evenings.