Best value cat stoves..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cmonSTART

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Sort of just window shopping here planning our upgraded chimney, hearth, etc. I was considering a cat stove for the longer burn times they seem to achieve. We try to heat 100% with wood, so it would seem to benefit us. Unfortunately we don't have thousands to spend on anything (young family, mortgage, yadda yadda). Since I have no experience with them, does anyone have any opinions on their cat stoves they would like to share? I'm particularly interested in value. (I could see a used hearthstone cat in our living room).

cmonSTART said:
(I could see a used hearthstone cat in our living room).

That would be one really old Hearthstone stove. How about a used Woodstock cat instead?

I had a VC dutch West and really liked it .I need 800 bucks worth of parts to make it like new But a new stove was $1600 in july. I bought a harth stone Equinox . I think the soap stone is realy nice . I loaded my stove last night and at 8 pm tonight the dam thing is still warm . Ive had lots of used stoves 'and never thought that i got a good deal on them .

I was thinking an Englander 24-ACD must have been one of the better cat stove values out there.

Correct, though they do show up used. I believe Mike H. said he owned one and liked it. Worth keeping an eye out for.