Big Score? Can i do it?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ironspider

Feeling the Heat
Nov 13, 2013
Flanders, NY
I found a guy willing to drop off a lot of wood. Most of it is oak and by the looks of it, they are 3-4 ft logs and about 36" diameter. Here's my question:

I'm a newb with a craftsman 18" saw, I go through chains like crazy because i love hitting dirt. I have a Ariens 22 ton splitter with vertical operation. Can i process this with the equipment i have or am i biting off more than i can chew. He estimates 5 cords of wood, looks like more to me. He'll deliver it to me for $20.

Thoughts?

Logs that big are pushing it for an 18" bar. If you end up with some that are bigger than 36" you're up the creek without a saw ;lol

If you do get them cut up, I don't think you'd have a problem splitting them with the vertical splitter

If you think the saw will take them I'd let him deliver the logs

I suspect you'll wish you had a more powerful saw with a longer bar.

Reactions: Beer Belly
I've done logs that size with a 20in bar. For cutting i usually do a top cut then one side cut to the bottom then the other side cut to the bottom. The top cut usually works well for a guide. After that getting them in half is a bear but then its smooth sailing to awesome firewood. I would take them and if you can't do it get some help. That kind of wood doesn't come around every day