Brand new ceramic liner VS SS

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 5, 2011
NH
So heres the deal, We just got done installing our sumers heat woodstove in our livingroom. I had to cut a hole into the (right side)flue, and discovered that the previous owner had replaced BOTH ceramic liners and NEVER used this side :)

I am brand new to burning wood, and would like to hear some constructive critisism from anyone who might wanna throw some my way!

What are some ways I can improve my wood burning? Would a 6'' SS liner be better than the basicly brand new ceramic that is in there now??

How bout chimney height? Using a cap? Right now my chimney only goes maybee a foot or 2 over the top peak in the roof, and has no cap. The house is a single floor.

right now my stove door doesn't close 100% It seems the metal panel on the inside that catched the latch is bent.... Is this affecting my efficiency?

Attachments

• our stove.jpg
    our stove.jpg
    36.8 KB · Views: 344
depends. whats the size of the clay tile 6x6? 8x8? chimney on the inside of houses our exterior. i personally like a stainless steel liner better. you can insulate. easier cleaning and maybe a little better performance. others will no a little more and give you some good advice.

You definitely need to get that door closed. Are you sure the end of the door latch isn't hitting a fire brick on the right side?

Lewisthepilgrim said: