1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Breckwell P24 Insert Auger Troubles

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Josh8906, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. Josh8906

    Josh8906 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, I just installed a used breckwell p24 insert pellet stove and I am having trouble with the auger. I replaced all my thermodiscs and put on a new vacuum hose on air switch. I am new to pellet stoves so I am not quite sure how the auger is suppose to work. My auger comes on for about two seconds and only a few pellets drop before it cuts off. At times when the auger cuts on no pellets will fall. To me it doesn't seem like the auger is staying on long enough or the pellets are not coming out fast enough. Before I installed it I checked the auger with manual feed and it seems to turn fine. Any ideas on what may be my problem?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Did you disassemble the used stove completely, including removing the blowers, cleaning everything you could see, plus using compressed air to clean out the ash traps, etc, before installing it?

    The vacuum switch will not allow the auger to run if the stove is dirty and plugged with ash.....not enough vacuum is produced to close the switch.

    Easy test is to unplug stove, disconnect the 2 wires going to the vacuum switch and connect them together (and insulate!). If auger starts feeding pellets normally, you found the problem....either a very dirty stove inside, or a bad vacuum switch. Typically, used stoves are used just for this reason....the previous owner couldn't maintain it properly.
  3. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,842
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Is there a blinking light on the control panel? That will tell you what the problem is depending upon if the light blinking is the heat level 1, 2 or 3

    If it is the 2 light, that is a vacuum error and it means there is not enough vacuum in the stove to hold the vacuum switch close to keep the auger turning.

    I have found that changing the door and ash pan gaskets and replacing the vacuum switch usually fixes that problem.
  4. Josh8906

    Josh8906 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, I did take everything apart including convection and combustion motors and cleaned them. I also scrubbed the firebox and vacuumed everthing as well as blew it out so i'm pretty much positive it is very clean. It also has the analog control board.
  5. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,842
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Wow, that is an old stove! How old?

    So check the door gasket and try a new vacuum switch. (You can bypass the vacuum switch with a jumper as a test)
  6. imacman

    imacman Guest

    The vacuum port on the stove that the hose connects to was checked, and is clear? Did you try jumping the vacuum switch as i suggested above?
  7. Josh8906

    Josh8906 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Not yet. I am about to now. Thanks for the help.
  8. Josh8906

    Josh8906 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Okay I just jumped the vacuum switch. I am still having the same problem. Auger runs a few seconds and only a few pellets dropping sometimes none. I noticed even when I manual feed the auger I'm not getting many pellets to fall either maybe 5 or so at the most at one time.
  9. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,928
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Make sure the set screw holding the auger to the motor is tight. Can you see the motor? Could the motor be running, but the auger not turning?
    Another place to look - bottom of the hopper - make sure there's not a pellet bridge or foreign object blocking the pellets from the auger.
  10. A1Stoves.com

    A1Stoves.com Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    what setting on the control board?
    does it run ok?( turning for a couple of seconds at a time doesn't sound too far off...)
    can you adjust tim/feed using control board?
  11. Josh8906

    Josh8906 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    The set screw is tight and the auger is turning. I have been adjusting the time feed on control board and the auger turns on each setting but I still only get a few pellets at a time or none at all. I checked for foreign objects and bridging an everything was fine.
  12. stovelark

    stovelark Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Hi Josh with the old analog board (950), think the on time might be about 3 seconds what setting you running at?? Think that board has "a" through "e" ?? If so, does diff setting produce shorter time in between feeds?? If so sounds like board might be working. Are the pellets normal size?? (ideal about 1/4-3/4 inches long). Let us know. If board is bad, you can get conversion to new digital board, but very costly with new wiring harness. An old analog board very costly too, good luck.
  13. stovelark

    stovelark Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Hey Josh- reread your posts again. Sounds like you have the 950 board. Ok, auger is not going to turn continuously. If all is working normally, (vac switch closes to let power through to auger system if no exhaust blockage, no excessive leakage of air from door, glass is sealed etc etc), the auger comes on and turns at a set rate on low and the period in between feeds is max, and on hi setting, period in between feeds is min timewise. Its not required that pellets fall every cycle, but there shouldn't be many cycles that they don not fall. Every stove's on/off cycle isn't exact either. If that is a 950 analog board (about 2 inches wide, about 6 inches tall), it has the start button, fan override switch for the convection blower ???
    Anyway,hope this helps. Let us know.

Share This Page