Broken part on a Jotul Castine, plus: doghouse differences?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Sparky31

Nov 16, 2018
CONUS
I'm new to stoving but getting along pretty well thanks to experienced friends and Hearth.com. Our new Jotul Castine has about 12 burns through it now. I've kept a close eye on the temperatures and have gotten skilled with a quick heatup to about 550 degF (top dead center of stove), then tapering off right at 600 degF.

Last night we burned for about 5 hours between 500 & 600 degF. By bedtime, the stove had a great glowing coal bed that I had allowed it to burn down to, with a temp below 400 degF. Left the air fully on and went to bed.

This morning I checked the stove and there was just a hint of heat left. For some reason, can't recall, I touched the air control rod to move it from 100% open to 0% open. And that's when the outermost part of the rod simply fell onto the ash lip. Holy smokes!

Examination shows the weld between the outermost part of the rod and the central pivot point "ring" failed. All I can figure is that either the rod's metal was bad or the weld was inferior. I certainly haven't overfired the stove.

Called my local dealer and got a warranty claim going. However if they say it will take 6 weeks, I will just order the part myself for $45 or so. Gotta have the fire for Christmas.