Buck Stove Model 81 or other recommendations? Anyone care to comment?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jaydee

Apr 11, 2010
north GA
Hi -

I'm a newbie who's done a lot of lurking but will be getting ready to buy in the next few months.

Buck Stove is a good local brand in north Georgia and I am thinking of going with model 81, which boasts heating up to 2700 sq. ft, has 4500 BTU/hr (as per EPA) and a 2.4 cu. ft firebox.

I have a 2250 square foot ranch, and a central masonry fireplace. I'll probably have a stove installed instead of an insert to get a bit more heat out of it.

I'm a bit limited on front clearance because the hearth is 18 inches wide and I don't want to add extra hearth space.

I would like to hear any other people who either have a Buck (general comments) or specifically a model 81.

Or if there is another brand that fits the bill, would love to know. I've investigated Lopi Declaration insert among others. I'm more interested in heat output than pretty at the moment. Would love to have both...sigh. And I work full-time, so I'm not home to play with the fire all day, and need it to heat up quick when I return. Which I think lets out soapstone.

Thanks for any comments. Here's a photo of the future location of one woodburning stove or insert.

Attachments

• chimney.jpg
    chimney.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 619
My brother has the Buck 81 insert and loves it. It's a very well built stove. I have a Lopi freedom Bay and love it as well. Both company's make very fine inserts, and stoves.

It's up to you to find the one that fit's your needs...