Budget vs Expensive Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

notgunner

Mar 1, 2022
USA
Greetings. I'm a wood stove novice who is in the market for a new stove to heat my 2200 SqFt two story home, and I don't fully understand the pros and cons of the budget-friendly stoves that I have seen versus more expensive brands.

For example, I saw Lowes offer the 2400 SqFt heating area Summers Heat (which I think I read in another thread is the same as the Englander stove), for about $1,000. Whereas, my local dealer was offering stoves with similar heating areas, such as the Osburn 3300 and the Lopi Evergreen, for $3,000+. I'm trying to understand the functional differences. Are they really providing comparable heat? Is there a meaningful difference in the longevity of the stoves? Or is it just better aesthetics and frills?

Much appreciated

I would say it varies manufacturer to manufacturer... There are some budget stoves that are not well constructed and others that are. Name brands you pay a premium for the name and sometimes don't get any better construction or performance, but sometimes you do.

My Summers Heat 50-SNC30 has been a great experience for the price. The Osburn Strattford II zc fireplace we installed at the cabin I am still learning and heats well, but is definitely much more finicky; but I think a lot of that is due to the outside air intake. I installed the Summers Heat with new stovepipe and an insulated liner for less than the Osburn not including the Class A chimney.